ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Australia
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2005, 05:12 AM   #1
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
640 Adv Cockpit Project

Works a treat. Survived 2000km's of very harsh offroad on a recent shake down ride (Cooktown and north to Cape Melville, on roads so rough my eyeballs are still shaking 4 days later)

sans GPS and Pocket PC, mount is handbuilt by a mate who works at an engineering shop. RAM cradles, GPSOZ power/data cable, circa 1980's XR indicator rubber for additional vibration isolation, the roadbook holder mounts are already isolated but the big Katoom has more then it's fair share of vibes to deal with . Pocket PC is a IPAQ 3970 that has done 45,000kms on my BMW 1150 GS Adv and my Magellan Meridian that does time on my Husky 450, BMW 1150 Adv and KTM 640 Adv



with GPS and Pocket PC


FYI I had an autoelectrician mate upgrade the lighting so that highbeam runs with lowbeam when highbeam is on. He did it with a relay and sourced power from the accesories socket for lowbeam, he was supicious of the existing wires ability to handle the extra power requirments of low and high together (wires looked too thin). Makes a HUGE difference when riding into the night, which we did on all 4 nights of a recent trip.

Trevor S screwed with this post 09-04-2006 at 05:36 PM
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:42 AM   #2
WageSlave
Gnarly Adventurer
 
WageSlave's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: The OC
Oddometer: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor S
FYI I had an autoelectrician mate upgrade the lighting so that highbeam runs with lowbeam when highbeam is on. He did it with a relay and sourced power from the accesories socket for lowbeam, he was supicious of the existing wires ability to handle the extra power requirments of low and high together (wires looked too thin). Makes a HUGE difference when riding into the night, which we did on all 4 nights of a recent trip.
Hello,
If possible I'd like more information on the headlight modification. I have an '03 KTM 640 ADV and have been looking for discussions about doing exactly what you've done with the hi/lo beam configuration. If you have any photos, schematics, or detailed instructions I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Steve Robinson
__________________
WageSlave

Current ride - '09 DR-Z400SM (Adventurized)
WageSlave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 03:00 PM   #3
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,352
sweet job Trevor!

I second SRob's request for some tech details on re-wiring Hi and Lo together...

and know what you mean about the oem wire gauges, they are the absolute minimum cross section..... ktm?

The new 'roadbook holder'.... is that stainless tubing or nickel plated steel?... very tidy.... was planning on modifying mine too, as the right handguard connects on full lock an' it needs additional tabs for mtg gear - your design starts me thinking.....

S'pose we'll be seeing a ride report soon?....
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 03:03 PM   #4
Loadedagain
making chips
 
Loadedagain's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: West Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 26,730
hey guys.... any chance of copying this to the thumper forum? i ran into it by accident and i'm sure many of the thumper guys would be very interested.
__________________
** iba - 22936 *** Alcan5000 - 2006, 2008, 2012, 2014 ***

Stenhouse Racing - Specializing in KTM Upgrades
custom cnc service available to suit your specific needs.
Loadedagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 04:07 PM   #5
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRobinson
Hello,
If possible I'd like more information on the headlight modification.
Steve

There was a thread on it on KTM Talk some time ago with a schematic for an '02 which is what gave me the idea. I printed this schematic out and took it to Andrew, the mate that did the mod for me, he said he didn't like the way it was done and devised a new mothod. I will ask him to draw a schematic so I can scan and post it here. He has a rogh schematic he left with me but I might ask him to tidy it up :)

I didn't think to take any pics The relay was mounted under the dash to feed low beam while high beam was on, power was sourced from the accesories plug for the reasons mentioned in the original post.
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 04:23 PM   #6
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
sweet job Trevor!
I second SRob's request for some tech details on re-wiring Hi and Lo together...
Will see what I can come up with. It really does make a difference when riding the bike through the night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
sweet job Trevor
The new 'roadbook holder'.... is that stainless tubing or nickel plated steel?... very tidy.... was planning on modifying mine too, as the right handguard connects on full lock an' it needs additional tabs for mtg gear - your design starts me thinking.....
Mild stainless, the guy that made it is an avid dirt bike rider as well. He is unsure how it will stand up the vibes. I am a Surveyor not a Engineer so I have no idea. Call this design "Beta 1" I use the lugs from the genuine roadbook holder to raise the height to avoid touching on full lock, the Pocket PC is protected behind the screen from rain as long as you are moving (rode through rain for 5 hours with nary a drop), it WILL get wet if you are stopped and it rains, I have a strip of electrical tape across the top to stop dirt accessing the earphone, pointer and SD card slots as I ride. (pointer is kept in my jacket pocket) . The bracket is open on the right to allow a quick release of the Pocket PC but in retrospect is probably not needed. The bracket took him some time to make, plenty of bending :)

Anyone that thinks Aussie GPS units are okay for "serious" adventure riding in Aus doesn't know what decent mapping is, or are probably carry paper maps with them as well. This provides me with effectively unlimited storage, the abilty to use maps from a multitude of sources plus the genuine flexability of a PocketPC for other uses i.e MP3 player, Star Charts , travel diary etc.

I must stress it's not a solution for everyone as alot of people have trouble using digital solutions, ie a mate of mine gets lost when trying to use it but then he can't use a computer either. As a "solution" it is the best there is at the moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
sweet job TrevorS'pose we'll be seeing a ride report soon?....
Can't be farked.

Trevor S screwed with this post 08-31-2005 at 07:35 PM
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 05:37 AM   #7
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor S
Will see what I can come up with. It really does make a difference when riding the bike through the night.
would appreciate that muchly.... am experimenting with a hybrid HID setup at the moment and worry about fryin' the weeny wiring.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor S
Anyone that thinks Aussie GPS units are okay for "serious" adventure riding in Aus doesn't know what decent mapping is....
that's until somecompany comes to the market with a 'ruggedised' palm PC
like a mini Toughbook style gadget.... any of you (ex) Service guys know what the boys in Khaki are currently using to know WTFAW? (where the fcuk are we).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor S
Can't be farked.
OK! just post some photos .... with GPS co-ordinates ... bet you have some taking up valuable space on a HDD somewhere......



go on, make us all jealous!!
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 05:56 AM   #8
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
that's until somecompany comes to the market with a 'ruggedised' palm PC
Available to Suveryors now. I did have a URL somewhere, price was bordering on ludicrious from memory. This is why I run the Meridian as well as the Pocket PC. The Meridans mapping is a backup in case my real mapping shits itself :) I have been suprised at how long mine has lasted. It's done 50,000km on my BMW ADV in lots of shitty country and now several thousand on my KTM so I see no use for anyting "more" rugged for my use.


Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
OK! just post some photos ....
Just for you

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94698

Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
with GPS co-ordinates ...
No real need, it pretty much follows the track marked on the NATMAP Map series (this is what I run on Oziexplorer on the Pocket PC) as well as the Hema Cape York Map (in Ozi format),



though the Hema map is missing lots of sidetracks that are on the NATMAP Raster Map eg Ninian Bay and the Starcke Goldfields which are worth a diversion to get to the top of the hills for the view back to the mouth of the Starcke Rv. Met an old prospector up there, he was there "for the lifestyle, the money wasn't that good", or so he said :)

Trevor S screwed with this post 09-05-2005 at 06:08 AM
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 04:11 PM   #9
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
would appreciate that muchly.... am experimenting with a hybrid HID setup at the moment and worry about fryin' the weeny wiring.....
Finally got of my arse and got Andrew to do a wiring diagram,



also installed heated grips this weekend, so I took the opportunity to take a pic of the relay installation.

(red tape wrapped box is GPS/Pocket PC powersupply)



Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 08:28 PM   #10
rjf
SBS's #1 fan in January
 
rjf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Aust. Scrambler, 640Adv, 300EXC
Oddometer: 4,376
G'day Trev

For my cockpit install I've used touratech mounts. for the PDA they have a new mount that has Mvg ( what ever that is ) dampers and a water / dust resistant bag / holder that velcro and clips into the mount. I'll post a review in thumpers once I get some photo's sorted out. They have pics on the touratech website too. For both mounts it cost Aud $ 240 including postage so It wasn't that much dearer than RAM mounts.

For my headlight's I read a post in thumpers where you swap the power wire's over from low beam and the park light. I did this mabye 2000 km ago and it still works fine.
Now when I I turn the headlight switch to park or on the low beam is on. the hi low beam switch now switches from high to park, leaving the low beam on.

This is the link I think
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=75770

Having done this I'd like to try higher wattage bulb's, but Ain't game because the standard wire's are quite thin. Getting a relay done could fix this too.

rjf screwed with this post 09-26-2005 at 01:00 AM
rjf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 02:55 PM   #11
Trevor S OP
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjf
For my headlight's I read a post in thumpers where you swap the power wire's over from low beam and the park light. I did this mabye 2000 km ago and it still works fine.
Now when I I turn the headlight switch to park or on the low beam is on. the hi low beam switch now switches from high to park, leaving the low beam on.
This from the auto electrician mate that wired mine up when I told him about how you did it.

"yeah that is not a bad idea, but in your case you wanted the lights to function the same as they always had with the exception of high beam, there are probably a couple of downsides to the easy setup though. If you want to just use the park light for some reason ie. setting up camp at 10pm or roadside breakdown etc you cant you would have to use low beam The other is he is using a circuit that was designed for a 5w bulb with a 50w bulb where as your power in coming from the saftey of the acc circuit, the park circuit most likley will handle the load as he writes his is still working but saftety and light performace wise I dont believe it is the most desirable setup.



Quote:
Originally Posted by rjf
Having done this I'd like to try higher wattage bulb's, but Ain't game because the standard wire's are quite thin.

Getting a relay done could fix this too.
Agreed.
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 04:51 PM   #12
sequent
South Australia's own....
 
sequent's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Oddometer: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
would appreciate that muchly.... am experimenting with a hybrid HID setup at the moment and worry about fryin' the weeny wiring.....



that's until somecompany comes to the market with a 'ruggedised' palm PC
like a mini Toughbook style gadget.... any of you (ex) Service guys know what the boys in Khaki are currently using to know WTFAW? (where the fcuk are we).


OK! just post some photos .... with GPS co-ordinates ... bet you have some taking up valuable space on a HDD somewhere......



go on, make us all jealous!!

In the enviro section of the mine I work at, we use Trimble Recons. They're certainly rugged, and with good functionality.

We got them from a company called Ultimate Positioning at this address:

http://www.ultimatepositioning.com/i...appinggis.html

They cost around $2700 plus GST if applicable.
__________________
In life, if you don't risk anything, you risk everything...
sequent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 07:04 PM   #13
rjf
SBS's #1 fan in January
 
rjf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Aust. Scrambler, 640Adv, 300EXC
Oddometer: 4,376
Your auto elctician mate makes valid points, all concerns I had before the mod !

I did it the easy way 'cause that was the only instuctions I had to follow. Now you've posted how to do the relay I'll be doing that when time permits.

Thanks again,

Rhys.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor S
This from the auto electrician mate that wired mine up when I told him about how you did it.

"yeah that is not a bad idea, but in your case you wanted the lights to function the same as they always had with the exception of high beam, there are probably a couple of downsides to the easy setup though. If you want to just use the park light for some reason ie. setting up camp at 10pm or roadside breakdown etc you cant you would have to use low beam The other is he is using a circuit that was designed for a 5w bulb with a 50w bulb where as your power in coming from the saftey of the acc circuit, the park circuit most likley will handle the load as he writes his is still working but saftety and light performace wise I dont believe it is the most desirable setup.





Agreed.
rjf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 04:44 AM   #14
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by sequent
In the enviro section of the mine I work at, we use Trimble Recons. They're certainly rugged, and with good functionality.

We got them from a company called Ultimate Positioning at this address:

http://www.ultimatepositioning.com/i...appinggis.html

They cost around $2700 plus GST if applicable.
Thanks Sequent! (does your section lose many of those jiggers?..... )

and thanks for the diagram Commander Fart (sorry, couldn't resist.... must try not to be a..... dickhead......)

2/10 for handwriting (barely legible)

Am seriously thinking of mounting a (small) spot light off the mudguard, so I can see where I'm steering.....
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 05:42 PM   #15
warewolf
Tyre critic
 
warewolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,494
Question A question about wiring

This weekend I finally got round to adding a relay to keep low beam on with high, with low beam power coming from the accessory socket. (btw I can't find the diagram in this thread - broken link?)

This has raised a question: do the concerns over the size of the power feed wires apply to the ground return? Both high and low beam grounds are joined at the connector blocks where the lights plug in to the wiring harness. My thought was to move the ground for one beam to another point with less load. Good idea? Bad idea? Other comments? TIA

btw I also grabbed a pair of "Plus 50" bulbs. Rated at the same 55W as the OEM bulbs, but "have xenon added to the halogen gas mix for more light without extra heat or wattage" according to the marketing blurb. I haven't managed a test ride yet, but in the garage they did seem brighter.
__________________
Cheers,
Colin
KTM LC4 640 Question? Check here first --> KTM LC4 (640) Index Thread
The Stable
warewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014