ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2014, 10:09 PM   #1
craigincali OP
Just hanging around
 
craigincali's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: A town called Hell
Oddometer: 1,868
Tire Load Index / Max Load??

is the load index the same on motorcycles as it is on cars. Meaning: you multiply the tires max load X 4 on a car to come up with the true max load. Do you multiply a motorcycles max load X 2 ?? or add them or what?

Does this even make sense?
__________________
Me
I am usually drunk when I post so dont take it personally !
2010 KTM 990
craigincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:14 PM   #2
TrashCan
Scary Jerry
 
TrashCan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Louisville, Tn
Oddometer: 4,008
Max load per tire.
Front tire is usually smaller than rear, so less capacity.

The motorcycle may not be rated to carry the load ratings of the tires.
__________________
X the DY.

TrashCan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:20 PM   #3
craigincali OP
Just hanging around
 
craigincali's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: A town called Hell
Oddometer: 1,868
Okay. I guess this is where I am confused. I have Scorpions on the 990 and the rear load weight is around 730. I weight 230 plus the bike makes it close to 730 so does that mean I cant load up the bike without being over the max load for the tire???
__________________
Me
I am usually drunk when I post so dont take it personally !
2010 KTM 990
craigincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:22 PM   #4
tkent02
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Littleton, CO
Oddometer: 2,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigincali View Post
Okay. I guess this is where I am confused. I have Scorpions on the 990 and the rear load weight is around 730. I weight 230 plus the bike makes it close to 730 so does that mean I cant load up the bike without being over the max load for the tire???
It will be fine unless you pull a wheelie.
tkent02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:27 PM   #5
craigincali OP
Just hanging around
 
craigincali's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: A town called Hell
Oddometer: 1,868
That is some funny sh*t ... but really...
__________________
Me
I am usually drunk when I post so dont take it personally !
2010 KTM 990
craigincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:34 PM   #6
tkent02
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Littleton, CO
Oddometer: 2,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigincali View Post
That is some funny sh*t ... but really...
Think of it as a sustained weight rating. Overall, on average this much weight. Pull a wheelie, no problem, it's only temporary.
tkent02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 10:40 PM   #7
TrashCan
Scary Jerry
 
TrashCan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Louisville, Tn
Oddometer: 4,008
So, you gonna use the front tire also?
__________________
X the DY.

TrashCan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:10 AM   #8
randyo
Beastly Adventurer
 
randyo's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Northern NewEngland
Oddometer: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigincali View Post
is the load index the same on motorcycles as it is on cars. Meaning: you multiply the tires max load X 4 on a car to come up with the true max load. Do you multiply a motorcycles max load X 2 ?? or add them or what?

Does this even make sense?
max load of the vehicle is based on suspension, usually you overload the springs before you overload the tires
__________________
RandyO
IBA # 9560
07 VeeStrom
99 SV650
82 XV920R
A man with a gun is a citizen
A man without a gun is a subject
randyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 08:04 AM   #9
Jan from Finland
Registered
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 545
Consult your manual but I think that the max axle loads for the 990 Adv are 441lbs at the front and 552 lbs at the rear. But you can't add these together because the max total weight is only 949 lbs. Dry weight of the bike is 461 lbs. The load index should be higer than the max axle load. So you are overloaded if you multiply the rear load index by two.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you are ever attacked by lion, your best defense is to shove your arm down
their throat, grabbing the back of their tongue and hope help arrives quickly.
- Pro Travel Tip by Overland Journal
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jan from Finland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:15 AM   #10
H96669
A proud pragmatist.
 
H96669's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Hiding off Hwy 6, B.C.
Oddometer: 4,357
Should be a Load/Speed index on them tires and the manufacturer should have the info online.

I was just into that a few days ago with Michelin....here is what they have to say:

This code, when present, appears after the size marking. The code comprises three characters: two numbers and a letter, for example, 67H.The two-digit number is a code for the maximum load carrying capacity of the tire. The letter is a maximum speed rating indicating the maximum speed at which the tire may be used with maximum load when the maximum listed inflation pressure is used. Note: Michelin does not recommend or endorse exceeding the safe, legal speed limit.
__________________
Have tools, will travel!
H96669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:09 PM   #11
Idle
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Oddometer: 586
The max psi and load stamped on the tyre is for testing purposes only.

IMO, you shouldn't put much faith in the testing procedure or whats stamped on the tire considering what's on the line. It's kind of a joke when you look at what it consists of. Link below..







Having said that, the "stamped max psi" is usually much higher than what works best or is recommended by the mc manufacturer.


Avon Distanzia 160/60 R17



From FMVSS 119;

S7.4 High speed performance.
(b) Apply a force of 88 percent of the maximum load rating marked on the tire and rotate the test wheel at 250 rpms for .......

Just click the link, it's too much text to "".


http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regul...px?reg=571.119
Idle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 03:45 PM   #12
k-moe
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idle View Post
The max psi and load stamped on the tyre is for testing purposes only.
I think you are reading that label wrong. That tire was made for testing purposes only; not for sale. Assuming that it's your tire; how did you manage to get it? I have 24 tires between all of my vehicles, and none of the tires I've bought over the past 30 years have "For test purposes only" or the like anywhere on them.
k-moe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:13 PM   #13
Idle
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Oddometer: 586
Perhaps you are being misled by the manufacturers of your 24 tires.

I have two tires on my bike and 4 bald ones with the same disclaimer. Maybe you are right. I bought them from some guy in a white van at the gas station. He first offered to fix a dent in my truck for $150, then tried to sell me some speakers.
Idle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:57 PM   #14
Renaissanceman
DON'T PANIC!
 
Renaissanceman's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Oddometer: 150
This was linked to over at the chaingang site - it discusses the weight-carrying limitations of motorcycles.

http://www.soundrider.com/current/14...le-weight.aspx

I'm betting the bike will be overloaded before the tires.
__________________
There is no problem so big you can't make it worse
Renaissanceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 03:46 PM   #15
k-moe
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idle View Post
Perhaps you are being misled by the manufacturers of your 24 tires.
That woud mean Dunlop, Michelin, Avon, Contenental, BF Goodrich, Kenda, Firestone, Toyo, Pirelli, Bridgestone, Carslile, Hankook, and Yokohama have all missed putting that label on the several hundred tires I've bought from them.

The max load is there, but not the "For Testing Purposes Only" part.

Here's the load rating stamp from a new Dunlop I just had put on two weeks ago (made in June 2013).

k-moe screwed with this post 03-03-2014 at 04:38 PM
k-moe is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014