Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-02-2014, 07:57 PM   #1
calimusjohn OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 255
Someday is here!

Someday! Is here. Salome, Arizona
Salome, Arizona is home to a few hundred people during the summer. Why so few people? It is located smack dab in the middle of the desert about 100 miles west of Phoenix. Summers are quite warm. Then in October and November the population increases dramatically as Snowbirds from all over northern lands migrate to soak up warm sun rays as they run amok.

After 22 years of enjoying the wintertime pleasures of dealing with wood fired heating systems, frozen water pipes, and shoveling snow in Oregon, I am now a resident of Salome. It is perfectly poised as a training area for Adventure desert riding. It makes a great jumping off spot for touring Baja California and mainland Mexico. You can ride for thousands of off road miles . . .

. . . . . or stick to less traveled back roads.

The bike is loaded. Bills have been paid and pre-paid. The weather is good. I'm aging by the minute. I am ready for the next step; the ride from Salome to Nogales, Arizona and its Sister across the border - Nogales, Sonora, Mexico.

calimusjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 08:15 PM   #2
calimusjohn OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Someday is Here!

"Someday!"
Like many readers of these varied Ride Reports, I have often found myself muttering, "Someday". Well the years are starting to catch up with me. (Seventy five, so far.) If I continue to sit and whittle away the days, they are going to all run out and I will have gone nowhere.