User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-09-2014, 10:52 PM   #1
dmizer OP
n00b

Oddometer: 5
Russia advice for new ADV rider

Hello all. I'm very new to the adventure riding scene but for as long as I can remember I've wanted to take some serious adventure rides. This summer, I have the opportunity to take 2 months away from work. I am a US citizen living in Japan and I intend to ride from Japan to Western Europe (specifically Luxembourg).

Currently I intend to leave in the beginning of August. The bike I have is a Honda XR650l that's already been prepared (by another rider) for a trip through Mongolia. It has hard luggage racks and an enlarged tank that's supposed to be good for about 400 km. I don't want a bike that's so big and heavy I can't lift it off the ground by myself when I'm exhausted from riding hundreds of kilometers day in and day out. I also want a bike that's simple enough that I can at least attempt to fix it myself if something goes wrong.

I don't have very much experience with off road riding, but I intend to get some between then and now.

My planned route takes me away from most of the major urban centers in Russia, and I intend to enter the European union via the Baltic states in order to minimize my border crossing pain.

I need advice on the following questions.
1) I realize that this is fairly subjective, but providing I rely on camping for most of the trip, how much money would you recommend having available?
2) What kind of tires would be best suited for this type of journey? (if necessary, I'll ask in the "Equipment" section of the forum instead).
3) Is there a good paper road map available for Russia (in Russian)? I have a Zumo 550 GPS unit, but I'd prefer to have a paper map as an option.
4) What are your thoughts on the current political situation in Russia with regards to a US citizen traveling though?