ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Central – From Da Nort Woods to the Plane States
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2014, 03:09 PM   #1
MXanadu OP
n00b

Oddometer: 8
HELP!!! can't get a title for a XR600 in Kansas

So after reading all the great forums and going back and forth between which bike to get, I finally decided on getting a XR600R and I found a great deal on one. Only problem is it is impossible to get it plated in Kansas

So I was thinking... Only thing I need to do to get it titled is get a self addressed stamped envelope proving I live in a state that allows dual sports Get a new DL than get the bike registered. Was thinking~ I could send a letter to someone in a state that allows the bikes, they could give me the letter and I could go to the DMV and say i am a resident of that state.

Down side is, I would also need to change the registration on my car, keep coming back to that state to get new plates, and it might Fu@k up my taxes and working status with my company... But I feel it is worth the hassle to get the bike I want. Any ideas on what my options are and if this is even plausible?

I am serious about this bike and don't wanna have to settle on something else. Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Maybe if you live in a legal state I could pay you to get it plated.
MXanadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 03:47 PM   #2
LFD Kansas
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 957
You are going to run into some difficulty. Did you buy the bike in Kansas?
If not, you have to take the bike to the highway patrol and have them look at the Vin. I would highly recommend doing a bit of research on which inspection station would be a good one to go to. I tried plating an XR 400 and was unsuccessful.

Another idea would be to find someone who was successful and ask them how they did it. It has been done, but it is not easy.