ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-10-2014, 04:14 PM   #1
Jazz62 OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 970
Checking out Portland - let's hear it

Mrs. Jazz and I are coming to Portland for a few days.

We're thinking about moving out there. Mrs. Jazz has a real job, a school teacher and has an interview at a Portland Public Schools job fair. I'm a jazz musician, internationally known but still make poverty level income. If I didn't teach part time at a university it would barely be that. We're both passionate nature lovers.

Neither one of us has ever been there but we've been unhappy here in Chicago for a long time. The violent crime, the endless filth, the alarmingly low literacy rate, all the corrupt political bullshit that ultimately makes the cost of living unmanageable etc. It's worn us down. It's gotten so stressful to live here that even the complete unknown can somehow, inexplicably resemble sanctuary.

I have family in Olympia, WA so we'll spend a few days there (because we have to ) but we'll have 4 days in Portland. What neighborhoods/areas should we not miss in trying to vibe with the town?

We don't have any specific plans aside from her interview. Just want to try to get a feel for the place. Sorry for the lack of specificity in this post but let's hear it, lay it on me, don't pull any punches.

Thanks,
Jazz

Jazz62 screwed with this post 04-10-2014 at 04:34 PM
Jazz62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 07:58 PM   #2
WB-PDX
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,737
If you are really looking to move here, start by looking at rents on craigslist and focus your time in Portland hanging out in the hoods you can afford.

Portland's rental (and buying) market is out of control, and is insane in the "cool" neighborhoods.