User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-19-2005, 03:10 PM   #1
wilson234 OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 24
Jetting R1100R or any BMW

I'm new to the BMW, but not to motorcycles. I'm trying to get rid of some popping on decel and overall running lean on my R1100R 1995. Its got a BMP or Baxter Metal Products exhaust, which is either a full system or half, but completetly removes the big BMW stock exhaust. Anyone know if this Company is still in business, I had a number but now its discontinued.... The prior owner give me two things, which he mentioned should get rid of the lean condition. One: A small white plastic square relay looking item that says BMW on it. I believe you swap this out with an existing one and it opens another fuel mapping. WHERE AND WHICH ONE, there's a few in the fuse box section.

The second item looks like a seperate chip, it's got its own plastic covering and has female receptical to accept a plug, and a clip to mount on an inch circular tubing, which I would assume would be somewhere on the subframe. I HAVE NO CLUE WHERE THIS GOES, and my local bmw dealer does not either. I will attach a picture if no one knows and it would help figure this out.

Overall, I guess, what do BMW bikes require to rejet? I'm used to Powercommanders...................

THANKS.........
wilson234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 08:24 AM   #2
bluesman77
bluesman77

Oddometer: 1
I got rid of my backfiring...............

I ran into a similar situation with my 2001 R1100RL whne I installed a Two Brothers Racing slip-on. I tried a myriad of things, but never got the backfiring to go away until I removed the CCP (catalytic code plug) and increased the TPS voltage to .400 volt and turned the large brass by-pass screws out about a ¼ turn.

You can find good instructions for adjusting the TPS here:

http://www.ibmwr.org/r-tech/oilheads/zero528.shtml

steps 3 thru 5