ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-21-2014, 11:57 PM   #1
Jdeks OP
Departed

Oddometer: 951
Question Tips for a first-timer doing a 950 head rebuild

Okay,

So I've decided to bite the bullet, and refresh the heads on my 100k old '04 950.

I know the valve stem seals need replacing. But I plan to have the valves lapped, cylinder re-honed, replace the cam chains, tension rails, rings, head gaskets and anything else that's sensible while I'm down there.

I've never done something this big before. I plan to follow the workshop manual, which I have, and any relevant bits from the HoW and ktm950.info.

But could anyone else who's done this job possibly offer some advice?

• What exactly IS 'valve lapping', and how do I do it? Give it to a shop?
  • Same for cylinder honing?
  • How exactly do I replace piston rings? Is there a special procedure? Or just take the old ones off, and put the new ones on?
  • What else should I do/replace while I'm down there?
  • Any other tips or gotchas I should be aware of?
Cheers.
Jdeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 12:07 AM   #2
chasbo
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,535
Good luck on your rebuild!
Old 04-22-2014, 01:26 AM   #3
Chop Chop
Hector erector

Oddometer: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdeks View Post
Okay,

So I've decided to bite the bullet, and refresh the heads on my 100k old '04 950.

I know the valve stem seals need replacing. But I plan to have the valves lapped, cylinder re-honed, replace the cam chains, tension rails, rings, head gaskets and anything else that's sensible while I'm down there.

I've never done something this big before. I plan to follow the workshop manual, which I have, and any relevant bits from the HoW and ktm950.info.

But could anyone else who's done this job possibly offer some advice?