ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-20-2014, 08:29 AM   #1
hotrdd OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 78
Newbie overheating 950 S

So I’m an newbie to the KTM 950 but am already in love with it. My other bikes are old 1970’s customs and the KTM is just so much easier to ride for hours at a time. And there is all the fun of getting off the HWY whenever I want.

Bike is high mileage but seems to be in great shape otherwise. I’ve noticed the last couple of rides that the temperature bars have been creeping into the 5 bar range even when it’s cool. When I got home the other day from a short ride it puked a little bit of the green stuff onto the garage floor. Then this morning I rode to work on the HWY and it was 38F out and the bike still managed to get up to the 5 and 6 bar range.

The oil appears to be fine so I’m not afraid of a leak in that direction. I also have a second fan installed though I’m not convinced it’s even working. I need to do some more investigation on that one. But what sort of things should I look for? I have to drive it home from work today so is it okay to top up the system with some water?

-What coolant should I use in the LC8?
-I assume I get the front wheel high in the air to burp the system?
-If I look at the water pump what am I looking for?

hotrdd screwed with this post 05-20-2014 at 02:11 PM
hotrdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:45 AM   #2
gearheadE30
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 852
Coolant type shouldn't matter as long as it is the good phosphate free stuff that doesn't corrode. I use engine ice personally, but I've used the autozone stuff in a pinch as well. Topping off with water is fine.

You shouldn't need the second fan to keep it under control in those conditions.