ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 06:00 AM   #1
Bill the Bong OP
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 821
Wireless Bicycle Computers as ICO back-up

Anybody here used a wireless bicycle computer as a back-up to the ICO? Did the bike's electronics interfere? Using a wire-type bicycle computer is well documented, but running the wire along with ICO's wire might duplicate the failure mode.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:50 AM   #2
Bill the Bong OP
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 821
I'm proud to say that I finally had a question that nobody could answer. Suppose I should just test it myself.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:02 AM   #3
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,817

Quote:
Anybody here used a wireless bicycle computer as a back-up to the ICO? Did the bike's electronics interfere? Using a wire-type bicycle computer is well documented, but running the wire along with ICO's wire might duplicate the failure mode.
Well.... There are other threads that this has been addressed, and I will only say my personal opinion.
If I was to have a backup, I would have to make sure that it would not let me down. Ever. Otherwise we call it something else. Bicycle computers, as their name suggests, are for bicycles. For starters you cannot correct the distance. Then it's difficult to set the wheel diameter in most of them. I have seen them fail, (twice) even before a race.

You are looking for a cheap solution? Go Trailtech. It's all about how bad you want to finish the race. Otherwise, if its a friendly ride, you may as well go with one trip. Or use pilo's iphone application http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=936183 (he is an inmate here) and you are good to go!
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda

640 Armageddon screwed with this post 06-17-2014 at 08:17 AM
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:15 AM   #4
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 600
I used a wired version at one point, the wireless versions didn't record a high enough speed. Getting wheel distance was easy, and it worked fine other than no backlight.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 11:05 AM   #5
Bill the Bong OP
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
I used a wired version at one point, the wireless versions didn't record a high enough speed. Getting wheel distance was easy, and it worked fine other than no backlight.
Perfect, thanks
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 03:30 AM   #6
GezwindeSpoed
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GezwindeSpoed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The land of the Dutchmen
Oddometer: 192
I also used a wired one in my first rally. You have to ride on partial distances (so zerro it every tulip). I soldered a wire with button on one of the computer button which made it operatable by your thumb.
__________________
FE570; CB500X; KLE500
GezwindeSpoed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:44 AM   #7
Bill the Bong OP
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 821
Thanks, I appreciate the feedback. I have an ICO, just looking for an affordable back-up. I hoped that a wireless version would work, as this will mitigate the risk of the wires being damaged.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:59 AM   #8
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 600
Have you had problems before? I don't think that was an issue more than once or twice in 7 years of racing enduro's. I just taped the ico wires to the brake line, and if it was damaged I just replaced it with a hard plastic covered version from motionpro.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 11:55 PM   #9
Bill the Bong OP
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 821
Fair enough.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 01:30 AM   #10
troy safari carpente
Team f5ool
 
troy safari carpente's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: f5ederation of scandwegia
Oddometer: 17,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill the Bong View Post
Thanks, I appreciate the feedback. I have an ICO, just looking for an affordable back-up. I hoped that a wireless version would work, as this will mitigate the risk of the wires being damaged.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
Have you had problems before? I don't think that was an issue more than once or twice in 7 years of racing enduro's. I just taped the ico wires to the brake line, and if it was damaged I just replaced it with a hard plastic covered version from motionpro.
+1

My experience with bicycle trip computers has been (and I seen a LOT of them in the period 1988 to around 2008-ish) is that they more often than not; fail... due to the fact that they are engineered with completely another purpose, and harshness of environment in mind.

IF you are looking for a "back up" system... Why would you choose something that is inherreently LESS likely to (still) be in working condition, when (and if) the purpose built (and generally reliable) ICO tripmeter might fail?

You can jerry rig any number of different bicycle trips to do what you ask about (either wireless or with a lead to the wheel sensor/magnet). But in my experience, the liklihood that the unit will STILL be operational, in the event the ICO fails and you need to call on the "back-up" is only about 1 in 20...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy John
"There is a difference between constructive criticism and plain rudeness."


Quote:
Originally Posted by zenjen
"It's like deja vu all over again."

Quote:
Originally posted by PBee
"...the Barstid never gives you anything for your Sig line, it's always too long........."
troy safari carpente is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 01:58 AM   #11
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,817
Or!

You can use the bicycle trip as a main tripmeter and have tha ICO as a backup
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 02:42 AM   #12
troy safari carpente
Team f5ool
 
troy safari carpente's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: f5ederation of scandwegia
Oddometer: 17,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
Or!

You can use the bicycle trip as a main tripmeter and have tha ICO as a backup
Greeks...

You're the blokes that came up with the idea for airbag equipped parachutes... aren't you...?!


Hi d'...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy John
"There is a difference between constructive criticism and plain rudeness."


Quote:
Originally Posted by zenjen
"It's like deja vu all over again."

Quote:
Originally posted by PBee
"...the Barstid never gives you anything for your Sig line, it's always too long........."
troy safari carpente is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 02:44 AM   #13
GezwindeSpoed
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GezwindeSpoed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The land of the Dutchmen
Oddometer: 192
Or buy a EXC remote for the standard 690 tripmeter. Disadvantage is that you can only adjust trip2 on a stand still.
__________________
FE570; CB500X; KLE500
GezwindeSpoed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:20 AM   #14
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by troy safari carpente View Post
Greeks...

You're the blokes that came up with the idea for airbag equipped parachutes... aren't you...?!

Hi d'...
Hey Troy




what's wrong with that?!


Well... If only we had a Greek James Bond eh?
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:32 AM   #15
troy safari carpente
Team f5ool
 
troy safari carpente's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: f5ederation of scandwegia
Oddometer: 17,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
Well... If only we had a Greek James Bond eh?
Yeeeeah...?

... he probably wouldn't have survived the first episode... and Ian Flemming's lifes work would have ground to an abrupt halt right then back in the 60's...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy John
"There is a difference between constructive criticism and plain rudeness."


Quote:
Originally Posted by zenjen
"It's like deja vu all over again."

Quote:
Originally posted by PBee
"...the Barstid never gives you anything for your Sig line, it's always too long........."
troy safari carpente is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014