Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > New Zealand
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-13-2014, 07:49 PM   #1
Zebedee OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 780
Looking for an aluminium fabricator Hamilton/Akl ...

Hi Guys,

I'm trying to get a luggage rack (or possibly two) made up so I got the local NALCO outfit to give me a price.

... but the price came back at a jaw dropping $726 inc gst for two.

Quote:
Material $180 (840 x 870 x 5.0 th 5058)

Bending - $ 103.50 for 2 pieces

Routering - $160 for 2 pieces

Anodising 12 microns - $ 283 for 2 pieces
The parts themselves are 500 x 425 before bending, and the linework is available in dwg/dxf, etc, etc ...

I'm new to getting bits of Ally cut and bent in this part of the world, but it strikes me that it shouldn't cost anywhere near what the quote came back at.

So, can anybody direct me somewhere that might be able to do a half-decent job of some simple Ally fab work at a sensible price, preferably Hamilton or South Auckland ...

John
Old 07-13-2014, 08:26 PM   #2
BOETJE
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 151
I've had good experience with these guys :

http://www.precisionlasercutting.co.nz/

Since you already have a 3 D model by the look of it , you just have to make the drawing , and send it to them in DXF format. Ask for a quote for 5 and 10 or such. You will have the quote very quickly. They can also bend it for you.
BOETJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 08:53 PM   #3
Zebedee OP
Studly Adventurer

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOETJE View Post
I've had good experience with these guys :

http://www.precisionlasercutting.co.nz/

Since you already have a 3 D model by the look of it , you just have to make the drawing , and send it to them in DXF format. Ask for a quote for 5 and 10 or such. You will have the quote very quickly. They can also bend it for you.
Sweeeet ...